Artist verifiedMinus Story

Indie rock band from Lincoln, Nebraska. Dark and moody sound.

Social networks
Minus Story


Who is Minus Story? Minus Story is an indie rock band from Lincoln, Nebraska. The group is composed of vocalist/guitarist Jordan Geiger, guitarist Kyle Davis, bassist Matt Suggs and drummer John McCauley. The band has been together since 2001 and has released four full-length albums, including 2006's critically acclaimed The Captain Is Dead, Let the Drum Corpse Dance. Their music is characterized by its dark and moody sound and its heavy use of synthesizers and keyboards. Minus Story's Musical Style Minus Story's sound has been described as a blend of indie rock and post-rock. Their songs feature intricate guitar work, atmospheric synths and layered vocal harmonies. The band has also been compared to other indie acts such as The National, Modest Mouse and The Decemberists. Collaborations Minus Story has collaborated with several other artists over the years, such as Bright Eyes, The Good Life, Azure Ray and Olivia Tremor Control. In 2009, the band provided backing vocals on Bright Eyes' album The People's Key. In 2011, they contributed two songs to the soundtrack of the movie Take Shelter. Discography Minus Story has released four studio albums: 2004's My Ion Truss; 2006's The Captain Is Dead, Let the Drum Corpse Dance; 2008's Hail to Whatever You Found in the Sunlight That Surrounds You; and 2010's No Rest for Ghosts. They have also released numerous EPs and singles over the years. Where Are They Now? Minus Story is currently on hiatus while its members pursue other projects. Geiger has released several solo albums under the name Jordan Geiger while Davis plays in the bands The Good Life and Big Harp. Suggs has released several solo albums under the name Matt Suggs while McCauley plays in the bands Deer Tick and Middle Brother.