Artist verifiedPritam

Popular Indian music artist Pritam has put his unique stamp on multiple genres of music. Check out his collaborations and biography!

Social networks


Who is Pritam? Pritam is a 45 year old, popular Indian music director and composer. He has composed for over 100 Bollywood films and given music for nearly 500 films all over the world. He has created some of the most memorable songs and scores in Bollywood, such as 'Khalbali' from Rang De Basanti (2006), 'Ya Ali' from Gangster (2006) and 'Tumhi Ho Bandhu' from Cocktail (2012).Early Life Pritam was born in Kolkata, West Bengal. He moved to Mumbai shortly after his birth. His family consists of his father, Chandrakanta Chakraborty, who was a trumpet player in the Calcutta Symphony Orchestra, and his mother, Sumitra Chakraborty. His early years were spent in the city of dreams, Mumbai. He graduated from Narsee Monjee College of Commerce and Economics.Career Pritam began his career as a music composer with the film Jhankaar Beats (2003). He has gone on to compose for many Bollywood films including Gangster (2006), Jab We Met (2007), Love Aaj Kal (2009), Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani (2013) and Piku (2015). He also composed for some Tamil films like Chennai 600028 (2007) and Billa (2007). Moreover, he has composed many songs for advertisements as well. In 2016, Pritam composed 'Bulleya' for Karan Johar's Ae Dil Hai Mushkil. The song became a huge hit. In the same year, he composed 'Channa Mereya' from the film Ae Dil Hai Mushkil which was an even bigger hit.Featurings Pritam has collaborated with many singers including Arijit Singh, Neha Kakkar, Badshah, Amit Mishra and Atif Aslam. He has worked with these singers on various projects including movies, albums and advertisements.Awards & Achievements Pritam has won numerous awards throughout his career. He won Best Music Director at the Zee Cine Awards in 2015 for Happy New Year (2014). He won Best Music Director at the Stardust Awards in 2013 for Barfi! (2012). He also won Filmfare Award for Best Music Director in 2012 for Rockstar (2011). He also won several other awards including IIFA Awards, Star Screen Awards and Mirchi Music Awards.